Posted by: Rodney Shaw | December 12, 2009

Two Things That Matter

Our spirituality can be summed up in two things: we glorify God and we reach the lost. Everything we teach and preach falls under one of these categories. If ever there is a time when we lose one of these, we will cease to be who we are.

Do We Glorify God?

Is God glorified in us? Does God receive glory by the lives we live? At the end of each day, can we claim to have projected glory on the Almighty by the things we have said, by the places we have gone, by the company we have kept, by the things we have purchased, by the things with which we have amused ourselves, and by the way we have interacted with people?

There is very little meaning in our Sunday expressions of worship if they are not reinforced by a life which also glorifies God. To say or sing words of praise in public worship services and not back up those words with an appropriate lifestyle is no different than Tiger Woods telling his wife how much he loves her.

When we pray the Lord’s prayer (not merely recite it), it leads us to beseech God on behalf of the glorification of His name: hallowed be thy name. When we pray for God’s name to be hallowed, it is much like praying that God would send laborers into the harvest. At some point the prayer becomes one of consecration: “God, let your name be glorified in my life today—in the words I say, in the company I keep, in the activities in which I engage.”

Do we reach the lost?

I witnessed a man get delivered the other today. There was nothing special about that day. It was cold and rainy, and nothing in particular was going on that was out of the ordinary. But a man was delivered. Right in front of my eyes.

This is a common site in Pentecostal churches, or it should be. I am thankful for the apostolic heritage. We believe people can be delivered. That is what we are all about. It is who we are. It is what we do. It is why we live. We are apostolic.

If ever we are diverted from our duty to reach lost souls, we have also been diverted from glorifying God. There is no greater way to glorify God than to be diligently about His business. Having “good church” is a farce if no one’s life is transformed.

If it is not God’s will that any should perish, then we must ask in what way are we participating in or hindering God’s will. Do we make it easy or difficult for people to encounter God’s grace? Do we, like the Pharisees, “load men with burdens hard to bear” (Luke 11:46, NKJV), or do we, like the Good Samaritan, bend over backwards to rehabilitate a troubled soul back to health?

I suppose that what we do in each moment adds up to what we do in a day, and what we do each day adds up to what we do in a month and eventually in a year. This all adds up to what we do with our lives.

“Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer” (Psalm 19:14).

Responses

  1. Hebrews 3:13 But exhort one another daily, while it is called To day; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin.

    Jude 22 And of some have compassion, making a difference:
    Jude 23 And others save with fear, pulling them out of the fire; hating even the garment spotted by the flesh.

    Isaiah 58:1
    Cry aloud, spare not, lift up thy voice like a trumpet, and shew my people their transgression, and the house of Jacob their sins.

    Being an ex 1% Biker of the ‘60’s & ‘70’s, with a criminal life since my youth, my conscience was seared to the point I did not recognize sin as a Biblical reality but I did understand that civil law would punish those whom were caught.
    I was dead to emotion and a walking dead man.

    However, my inner being (spirit) was not changed with a letter and a phone call from my sister telling me that I was lost and going to hell because of my life style. She also quoted and wrote Acts 2:38 in each contact.
    I did not understand.
    Nonetheless, I took a vacation to the Lone Star state to visit her for no reason other than to take a vacation from NYC and the East coast.
    My sister asked me to visit her church because of a prophecy conference that was going on at that time and I went. I did not know what prophecy was but she was my sister and it seemed like something different to do.
    I heard the praying before service, the singing, and the guy (preacher) talking about the things to come.
    Most of which I had already seen in Viet Nam during TET ’68 and after; I was not moved.
    Then something happened that was out of context to his subject. The preacher walked to the side of the building I was sitting on, pointed his finger directly at me and said: “the Bible says it is a shame for a man to have long hair” and then continued on with his subject. After a few minutes he returned to me and repeated, “the Bible says it is a shame for a man to have long hair” twice more.
    I knew he was talking to me, pointed finger and all, and I KNEW he was right. (I never read the Bible).

    My mind and spirit began to change because of the love of the saints brought me back to service several times until I repented, baptized in the name of Jesus, and filled with the Holy Ghost.

    The love of the saints included them not tolerating me but forbearance along with direction of how to be delivered from the bondage of sin.
    The pastor preached holiness and righteousness and I began to feel guilty for my sins.
    Love should bring conviction not condemnation. I doubt that anyone could have won me by weak speech worrying about my feelings, and how can we psyche him into the church.

    The One who could have cast the first stone was the Rock, the Chief Cornerstone and He did cast Himself into this sinful world for the reasons of all of us know.

    I thank the Lord for someone and the church that was straight, strong, truthful, and full of love.
    That was 36 years ago.

    Different strokes for different folks use to be a cliché used in the past.
    Today we must keep sensitivity to the Spirit of God and speak exactly as He decides we should to those we are laboring to convert.

    Prayer, thanksgiving, praise, worship, preach the Word, and we will reap the harvest God intends to give us.

    “I am the vine, ye are the branches:
    He that abideth in me, and I in him,
    the same bringeth forth much fruit:
    for without me ye can do nothing.”
    (John 15:5 KJVS)

  2. There is very little meaning in our Sunday expressions of worship if they are not reinforced by a life which also glorifies God. To say or sing words of praise in public worship services and not back up those words with an appropriate lifestyle is no different than Tiger Woods telling his wife how much he loves her
    Little strong comment on a family that is struggling. He without sin, cast the first stone. If we are trying to win the lost, comments like this will not bring them to truth or to the house of God. Just something to think about. Lord Bless. Let’s win the lost in 2010
    Joseph Palacios


Leave a Reply

Categories

